New Song

I asked someone to name this one for me; and she certainly pulled out all the stops and forsook conventions. I have to admit, I like the title more than the song now.

If I had to classify it, I would say it’s a little like Hisaishi Jo from his 80s phase mating with 50s sitcom themes.  Yes, indeed it is.

There are still lots of strange inconsistencies in the song, but I don’t know how to fix them and I wanted to move on. So here’s my song from March.

2 responses to “New Song

  1. I really did not like this one. It seemed quite clumsy-sounding (that could be on purpose) and… directionless? It may have a central melody but when I heard the chords and other arrangements around it sounded more out of place than anything else.

    • “En gusto no hay nada escrito,” dijo la vieja comiendose los mocos.

      It’s odd because I like this one and it’s one of the more popular ones I’ve posted on opengameart.org

      Obviously, your criticism stands and is ultra valid, but I wonder what framework/context to consider it in. The mere fact that I don’t really understand your criticism shows several things, among them that I lack certain music sensibilities you have. I’m curious and would appreciate it if you could elaborate a little more on how it comes across as clumsy sounding and directionless. The ‘what,’ you have made abundantly clear, but in order to try to rectify it in future pieces I have to understand the ‘how’ and the ‘why.’

      You’re one of the few friends I know who will criticize something you don’t like even if a friend made it, and I appreciate that. So, help me understand why/how you think it fails, too.

Should you deign to reply...